10.12.21 A climate protector and a fan of nuclear power Author: Uniper SE • Reading time: 4 min.

Scroll to Read
Summary

“Green” does not automatically mean the same as “anti-nuclear.” This is demonstrated by the Finnish Green Party politician Tea Törmänen, who is fighting to protect the climate by using new modular nuclear reactors. 

Tea Törmänen on social media: @TeaTrmn (Twitter)

When it comes down to doing the right thing, no journey is too long for Tea Törmänen. In her case, this journey took her from Karelia in Finland to the waters off Canada and the United States, where she studied creatures that may be among the most misunderstood in the world – killer whales. This is just one of many examples showing how Tea does not let anything deflect her from her commitment to the environment. 

To leave a better world to future generations has always been Tea’s driving force, and it was not long before she also became involved in politics. Thanks to her mother, who was active in the National Coalition Party, Tea grew up distributing leaflets and knocking on voters’ doors. As an adult, however, she sensed that the Coalition Party was not the ideal political party, and so she joined the Liberal Party. 

As she continued her political journey in the Liberal Party, her party colleagues were soon convinced that she should become its leader, because of her campaigning for a sustainable future. After the party’s leader resigned in 2019, Tea was asked to take over the position. The great responsibility associated with that post made her pause for thought. After careful consideration, she decided that her talents would be best used somewhere else – in the Green Party. After joining that party, she moved back to her native Karelia and set up a local group of the party’s sub-organization “Greens for Science and Technology,” of which she is now the chair. 

Tea Törmänen, Member of the Green Party, Finland

When Tea Törmänen thinks that something is right, she is resolute about it – but she is also open to new ideas at the same time. “Since my childhood I have constantly wanted to change something, and I have always been an environmentalist,” she says in a conversation about the environment and nuclear power. “Whenever I see that something needs to be changed, I will act. I simply have no alternative – not least now that my two daughters have been born. I owe it to them, at the very least, to fight for their future.” 

Pro-nuclear does not mean the same as anti-environment

Finnish politics has long been admired internationally for its ability, where necessary, to prioritize the ends over the means, without getting bogged down in ideological debate or protracted decision-making processes. The decision about the final disposal site for nuclear waste is a good example of this. Overall, it seems that what matters most in Finland is the will and determination to stand up for a better society, regardless of party allegiance. 

For instance, young Finns want fossil-free solutions for future energy production. For 59 percent of young people aged under 25, nuclear power is seen as one of the energy sources that are needed to combat climate change. Also, the trend in Finnish society is unambiguous: acceptance of nuclear power as a means of combating climate change has gone up by 25 percent since 2012. 

The development of small modular nuclear reactors, known as SMRs, comes into play here. For Tea, investment in this new nuclear technology can make a contribution toward providing a safe, reliable source of energy and, at the same time, making possible a future without fossil fuels. “By investing in SMRs, we can tackle the problems that lead to delays and complications with traditional nuclear power stations,” she explains. “But even more importantly, the flexibility and scalability of SMRs mean we can use a new, fossil-free technology on a large scale to cover future energy needs even more effectively, while at the same time always keeping a focus on the environmental aspect.” 

Nuclear power for COP26

Tea Törmänen, Member of the Green Party, Finland

When we talk to Tea, there is only a week to go until COP26 in Glasgow – the first of these meetings in which she herself will be taking part. “There are many things that I would like to see during COP26,” she says. “One of them is the inclusion of nuclear power in the Green Zone. This is because climate change is happening now, and we do not have the time to rule out even one single sustainable option.” 

Tea does not merely want to ensure that nuclear power is categorized as one of the sustainable energy options. She is also of the opinion that there need to be more incentives for countries to fulfil their climate pledges, so that something can really be achieved. This includes more commitments to stop investment in fossil fuels and to increase investment in clean technologies. In her opinion, one option is the introduction of a global pricing mechanism for carbon emissions. “We have the research, and we have the pledges from governments,” she says. “What we need now is more initiatives for a genuine transformation. National promises alone will not work, and there are also no consequences if countries miss their own targets. We need financial incentives to reduce emissions, in which everybody is involved.” 

The dream of Finland’s first SMR

Whether at the national or international level, Tea’s commitment to a sustainable future extends beyond frontiers. Here is what she says when asked about her ideal future energy system: “Alongside the use of fossil-free, low-emission technologies, the ideal energy system would be as space-efficient as possible and occupy as little space as possible. It would be a mix of wind, solar, and nuclear power, all used in those places where they do the least harm to the environment.” 

The use of SMRs would form a stable foundation for the electricity system and complement renewable energy sources. What is more, Finland is no longer far from turning this idea into reality. There are already plans to build nuclear power plants to supply Finnish cities – including Helsinki – with clean, fossil-free district heating. This would be the first SMR in Europe and would make Finland a pioneer in the use of this technology. If you ask Tea, she believes it is certainly possible for Finland to put an SMR into operation before the end of the 2020s. 

If this does happen at some point, Tea may well have played a major part in it, as she and her party colleagues have worked with determination to create a safe, sustainable, and environment-friendly electricity system – for both present and future generations. 

Disclaimer

The contents of this website are created with the greatest possible care. However, Uniper SE accepts no responsibility for the accuracy, completeness and topicality of the content provided. Contributions identified by name reflect the opinion of the respective author and not always the opinion of Uniper SE.

10.12.21 Klimaschützerin und Kernkraft-Fan Autor*in: Uniper SE • Lesedauer: 4 min.

Scroll to Read
Zusammenfassung

„Grün“ bedeutet nicht automatisch „Anti-Atom“. Das zeigt die finnische Grünen-Politikerin Tea Törmänen: Sie kämpft dafür, das Klima durch den Einsatz von neuen modularen Kernreaktoren zu schützen.

Tea Törmänen ist erreichbar auf den sozialen Medien: @TeaTrmn (Twitter)

Wenn es darum geht, das Richtige zu tun, ist Tea Törmänen kein Weg zu weit. In ihrem Fall führte er vom finnischen Karelien bis zu den Gewässern vor Kanada und den USA, wo sie eines der vielleicht am meisten missverstandenen Tiere der Welt studierte: Schwertwale. Das ist nur eines von vielen Beispielen dafür, wie Tea sich durch nichts von ihrem Engagement für die Umwelt abhalten lässt.

Künftigen Generationen eine bessere Welt hinterlassen  – das war schon immer Teas treibende Kraft. Und es dauerte nicht lange, bis sie sich auch politisch engagierte. Dank ihrer Mutter, die in der Nationalen Sammlungspartei aktiv war, wuchs Tea mit dem Verteilen von Flugblättern und Hausbesuchen bei Wählern auf. Aber als Erwachsene spürte sie, dass die Sammlungspartei nicht die ideale politische Partei war. Darum trat sie in die Liberale Partei ein. 

Als sie ihre politische Reise innerhalb der Liberalen Partei fortsetzte, waren ihre Parteikollegen schnell davon überzeugt, dass sie wegen ihres Kampfes für eine nachhaltige Zukunft an der Spitze stehen sollte. Nachdem der Parteivorsitzende 2019 zurückgetreten war, bat man Tea darum, das Amt zu übernehmen. Die große Verantwortung, die mit diesem Amt verbunden wäre, brachte sie ins Grübeln. Nach reiflicher Überlegung entschied sie, dass ihre Talente am besten anderswo eingesetzt werden sollten: in der Grünen Partei. Nachdem sie dort eingetreten war, zog sie zurück in ihre Heimat Karelien und gründete eine Ortsgruppe der Parteiunterorganisation „Grüne für Wissenschaft und Technologie“, deren Vorsitzende sie heute ist. 

Tea Törmänen, Grüne Partei, Finnland

Tea Törmänen ist entschlossen, wenn sie etwas für richtig hält  – aber gleichzeitig auch offen für neue Ideen. „Seit ich ein Kind war, wollte ich dauernd etwas verändern, und ich war schon immer eine Umweltschützerin“, sagt sie bei einem Gespräch über Umwelt und Atomkraft. „Wann immer ich sehe, dass etwas verändert werden muss, handle ich. Ich habe einfach keine andere Wahl. Nicht zuletzt jetzt, nachdem meine beiden Töchter geboren wurden. Zumindest bin ich es ihnen schuldig, für ihre Zukunft zu kämpfen.“

Pro-Atomkraft ist nicht gleichbedeutend mit Anti-Umwelt

Die finnische Politik wird seit Langem international für ihre Fähigkeit bewundert, bei Bedarf dem Zweck den Vorrang vor den Mitteln zu geben, ohne sich in ideologischen Diskussionen oder langwierigen Entscheidungsprozessen zu verzetteln. Die Entscheidung über das Endlager für Atommüll ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür. Insgesamt scheint es in Finnland vor allem auf den Willen und die Entschlossenheit anzukommen, sich für eine bessere Gesellschaft einzusetzen  – unabhängig von der Parteizugehörigkeit.

So wünscht sich die finnische Jugend fossilfreie Lösungen für die Energieerzeugung der Zukunft. 59  Prozent der Jugendlichen unter 25  Jahren sehen die Kernenergie als eine der Energiequellen an, die zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels benötigt werden. Und der Trend in der finnischen Gesellschaft ist eindeutig: Die Akzeptanz der Kernenergie als Mittel zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels ist seit 2012 um 25  Prozent gestiegen.  

Hier kommt die Entwicklung von SMRs, kleinen modularen Kernreaktoren, ins Spiel. Für Tea können Investitionen in diese neue Nukleartechnologie dazu beitragen, eine sichere und zuverlässige Energiequelle bereitzustellen und gleichzeitig eine Zukunft ohne fossile Brennstoffe zu ermöglichen. „Durch Investitionen in SMRs können wir die Probleme angehen, die bei herkömmlichen Kernkraftwerken zu Verzögerungen und Komplikationen führen“, erklärt sie. „Aber noch wichtiger ist: Durch die Flexibilität und Skalierbarkeit von SMRs können wir eine neue, fossilfreie Technologie in großem Maßstab nutzen, um den Energiebedarf der Zukunft noch effektiver zu decken  – und dabei immer den Umweltaspekt im Auge behalten.“ 

Kernenergie für die COP26 

Tea Törmänen, Grüne Partei, Finnland

Als wir mit Tea sprechen, ist es nur noch eine Woche bis zur COP26 in Glasgow  – der ersten UN-Klimakonferenz, an der sie selbst teilnehmen wird. „Es gibt viele Dinge, die ich während der COP26 gerne sehen würde“, sagt sie. „Eines davon ist die Aufnahme der Kernenergie in die Grüne Zone. Denn der Klimawandel findet jetzt statt, und wir haben keine Zeit, auch nur eine einzige nachhaltige Option auszuschließen.“ 

Tea möchte nicht nur sicherstellen, dass die Kernenergie als eine der nachhaltigen Energieoptionen eingestuft wird. Sie ist auch der Meinung, dass es mehr Anreize für die Länder geben muss, ihre Klimazusagen zu erfüllen, um wirklich etwas zu bewirken. Dazu gehören mehr Verpflichtungen, um Investitionen in fossile Brennstoffe zu stoppen und Investitionen in saubere Technologien zu erhöhen. Eine Möglichkeit ist für sie die Einführung eines globalen Preismechanismus für Kohlenstoffemissionen: „Wir haben die Forschung, wir haben die Zusagen der Regierungen. Was wir jetzt brauchen, sind mehr Initiativen für einen echten Wandel. Nationale Zusagen allein werden nicht funktionieren, und es folgen auch keine Konsequenzen, wenn Länder ihre eigenen Ziele verfehlen. Wir brauchen finanzielle Anreize zur Emissionssenkung, an denen sich alle beteiligen.“ 

Der Traum von Finnlands erstem SMR

Ob auf internationaler oder nationaler Ebene: Teas Engagement für eine nachhaltige Zukunft geht über Grenzen hinaus. Gefragt nach ihrem idealen künftigen Energiesystem, sagt sie: „Neben dem Einsatz fossilfreier, emissionsarmer Technologien wäre das ideale Energiesystem so flächeneffizient wie möglich und würde so wenig Fläche wie möglich beanspruchen. Es wäre eine Mischung aus Windkraft, Solarenergie und Kernenergie, die alle dort eingesetzt werden, wo sie die Umwelt am wenigsten belasten.“ 

Der Einsatz von SMRs würde eine stabile Grundlage für das Elektrizitätssystem bilden und die erneuerbaren Energiequellen ergänzen. Und Finnland ist nicht mehr weit davon entfernt, diese Idee Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen: Es gibt bereits Pläne für den Bau von Kernkraftwerken, um finnische Städte mit sauberer, fossilfreier Fernwärme zu versorgen  – darunter auch Helsinki. Dies wäre der erste SMR in Europa und würde Finnland zu einem der Vorreiter beim Einsatz dieser Technologie machen. Und wenn man Tea fragt, ist es durchaus möglich, dass Finnland noch in den 2020er-Jahren einen SMR in Betrieb nimmt. 

Wenn es irgendwann so weit ist, dürfte Tea daran einen wichtigen Anteil gehabt haben. Denn sie und ihre Parteikollegen haben entschlossen daran gearbeitet, ein sicheres, nachhaltiges und umweltfreundliches Elektrizitätssystem zu schaffen  – für heutige und für künftige Generationen. 

Haftungsausschluss

Die Inhalte dieser Website werden mit größtmöglicher Sorgfalt erstellt. Uniper SE übernimmt jedoch keine Gewähr für die Richtigkeit, Vollständigkeit und Aktualität der bereitgestellten Inhalte. Namentlich gekennzeichnete Beiträge geben die Meinung des jeweiligen Autors und nicht immer die Meinung von Uniper SE wieder.