22.09.21 Only together can we reach our goal: a stimulating discussion about investment in a climate-neutral future Author: Benedikt Schwan • Credits: Getty Images/Ivan Bajic • Reading time: 3 min.

Scroll to Read
Summary

How can we manage to become climate-neutral as quickly as possible, while at the same time taking people and businesses along with us and without it negatively impacting either group? This was the subject of the Tagesspiegel Debate.Energy Talk #1, attended by experts from the worlds of politics, business, and finance.

Shortly before the start of the next UN climate summit in Glasgow on November 1, the team at the Berlin newspaper Der Tagesspiegel got together with the makers of Debate.Energy to organize an exciting mini-round table. The Tagesspiegel Debate.Energy Talk #1 on Tuesday afternoon spent a very packed and content dense hour and a half discussing the question of how we can achieve climate neutrality.

This is because, with plans ranging from phasing out coal and nuclear energy to installing renewable energy capacity and new infrastructures for organizing energy and industry on a climate-neutral footing, everybody involved has understood clearly for a long time that the financing of these plans plays a – if not the – key part in the fight against climate change. After all, experts have calculated that 2.5 trillion dollars are going to be needed every year up to 2030 in order to achieve the ambitious sustainability targets set by the United Nations.

Some exciting guests were involved in the discussion. Hildegard Bentele (CDU), MEP and member of the European Parliament’s Committee on Industry, Research and Energy, represented politics. Dr. Frank Possmeier, Executive Vice President Renewables at Uniper, was on the panel as a representative of the energy industry. The renowned climate-protection expert Dr. Felix Christian Matthes, Research Coordinator for Energy and Climate Policy at the Öko-Institut e.V., described where the science currently stands and explained how it is possible to harmonize this with economic and social aspects. Meanwhile, Dr. Henrik Pontzen, Head of Environmental, Social and Corporate Governance in Portfolio Management at Union Investment Institutional GmbH, represented the side of capital, which is hoping for investments that can be both sustainable and profitable at the same time. Finally, Nima Nader, Head of Climate Policy at WirtschaftsVereinigung Metalle e.V., described the present situation from the perspective of industry, meaning the companies that are being confronted urgently by all the changes that they face on the road to climate neutrality.

The Tagesspiegel Debate.Energy Talk #1 did not come up with the answer to everything, of course. However, the participants on this panel did demonstrate that everybody – literally everybody – has to pull together in the common effort to stop climate change. It is important here to think in a way that is open to different technologies, to carry others with you and to learn to put yourself in the position of companies and people who are directly affected – and every decision does not have to be the right fit for every player.

One example of this is nuclear power. Whereas Matthes from the Öko-Institut considered this issue to be “finished”, at least in Germany, and did not want to start any fresh debates on the matter as that would only hamper the journey to climate neutrality, the MEP Bentele pointed out that not all European Union countries see it like that. “The discussion about nuclear power is over in Germany, but not in Europe,” she said. Pontzen, the representative of investors, likewise sees no more future in nuclear power, and his sustainability funds have rejected things like French government bonds, because nuclear power plays a central part in the energy mix for the state-owned utility EDF. However, he too acknowledges that “there are many trade-offs – ideology does not help.” In his view, it is necessary to “make all sectors sustainable.”

Nader, the representative of industry, fears low-price competition from other countries that have less strict rules. “We are in incredibly fierce competition with other regions like China, which has an extremely bad carbon footprint,” he says, speaking for his nonferrous metals sector. He said that they were going along with steps to avoid carbon emissions but did not yet have the new technologies to deal with everything, and that compensation payments for orders to cease operating were inadequate. “Shutting companies down is not a business model,” he said. His member companies wanted to produce, he said.

Dr. Felix Matthes from the Öko-Institut believes that the road to climate neutrality is connected not only with the construction of infrastructures, ranging from the expansion of power lines to renewable energy facilities and storage systems, but also with their removal. “What part of the gas industry would pass the climate neutrality stress test,” he asked. Uniper renewables chief Dr. Frank Possmeier believes that this conversion is feasible “if we tackle the transformation together.” He said that it was necessary to become faster and better, and that a market-oriented approach should be preferred. "Climate change is overtaking approval practices in Germany," Possmeier said. The market-oriented approach should be preferred, he commented. "We need technology openness - with the expansion of renewables and the development of a hydrogen economy, we are already driving decarbonization. With the right framework conditions, it would happen much faster." One problem, he said, is still the "not in my backyard" mentality on the part of many. This slows down the expansion of power lines for renewables, for example. Natural gas could be a partner here in this transition. "If politicians, companies and society work together in a concerted effort, we can achieve the goal of climate neutrality," Possmeier said. Pontzen added, "We don't have an ambition problem, we have an implementation problem."

The MEP Bentele hopes people will eventually come closer together at EU level, too. “Climate neutrality was designed for the whole European Union, but not all member states have accepted it yet,” she warned. What was clear to all the participants in the discussion was that progress could be made only by acting together and that the energy sector, industry, policymakers, and financiers had to work hand in hand to achieve the common goal. The debate, skillfully moderated by Thomas Wendel, Editor-in-Chief of Tagesspiegel Background Sustainable Finance, could have gone on for hours longer, as Wendel himself commented at the end. It certainly will do so, too – not least at the next Tagesspiegel Debate.Energy Talk.


Click here to watch the full stream of the conference:https://berlin.debate.energy/de/event


Disclaimer

The contents of this website are created with the greatest possible care. However, Uniper SE accepts no responsibility for the accuracy, completeness and topicality of the content provided. Contributions identified by name reflect the opinion of the respective author and not always the opinion of Uniper SE.

22.09.21 Nur gemeinsam zum Ziel: Anregende Diskussion um Investitionen in eine klimaneutrale Zukunft Autor*in: Benedikt Schwan • Credits: Getty Images/Ivan Bajic • Lesedauer: 3 min.

Scroll to Read
Zusammenfassung

Wie schaffen wir es, möglichst schnell klimaneutral zu werden? Und dabei gleichzeitig die Menschen und auch die Wirtschaft mitzunehmen, ohne dass es für beide Gruppen zu negativen Effekten kommt? Beim Tagesspiegel Debate.Energy Talk #1 war dies das Thema – mit Expertinnen und Experten aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Finanzen.

Kurz vor dem Start des nächsten UN-Klimagipfels am 1. November in Glasgow hat das Team des Berliner Tagesspiegels zusammen mit den Machern von Debate.Energy zu einer spannenden Kurzrunde geladen: Beim Tagesspiegel Debate.Energy Talk #1 ging es am Dienstagmittag in sehr gerafften wie inhaltlich dichten anderthalb Stunden um die Frage, wie wir zur Klimaneutralität gelangen.

Denn vom Kohle- und Atomausstieg über die Installation von Erneuerbaren Energien bis hin zu neuen Infrastrukturen für die klimaneutrale Ausrichtung von Energiewirtschaft und Industrie: Längst ist allen Beteiligten klar, dass die Finanzierung dieser Vorhaben eine – wenn nicht die – Schlüsselrolle im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel spielt. Immerhin werden bis 2030 jährlich 2,5 Billionen Dollar benötigt, um die ehrgeizigen Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen zu erreichen, haben Experten errechnet.

Mit in der Diskussion waren spannende Gäste. Hildegard Bentele (CDU), MdEP und Mitglied im Ausschuss für Industrie, Forschung und Energie des Europäischen Parlaments, vertrat die politische Seite. Dr. Frank Possmeier, Executive Vice President Renewables bei Uniper war als Vertreter der Energiewirtschaft im Panel. Der renommierte Klimaschutzexperte Dr. Felix Christian Matthes, Forschungskoordinator Energie- und Klimapolitik, Öko-Institut e.V., zeigte den aktuellen Stand der Wissenschaft auf – und erläuterte, wie es möglich ist, diesen mit wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Aspekten in Einklang zu bringen. Dr. Henrik Pontzen, Leiter Environmental, Social, and Corporate Governance im Portfoliomanagement bei der Union Investment Institutional GmbH, vertrat wiederum die Seite des Kapitals, das auf nachhaltige und dennoch gewinnbringende Investments hofft. Und Nima Nader, Leiter Klimapolitik, WirtschaftsVereinigung Metalle e.V., zeigte die aktuelle Situation aus Sicht der Wirtschaft auf – nämlich jene der Betriebe, die akut mit all den Änderungen auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität konfrontiert werden.

Der Tagesspiegel Debate.Energy Talk #1 fand natürlich nicht der Weisheit letzten Schluss. Dennoch zeigten die Diskutanten in dieser Zusammensetzung, dass alle – wirklich alle – beim gemeinsamen Ziel, den Klimawandel aufzuhalten, an einem Strang ziehen müssen. Dabei gilt es, technologieoffen zu denken, andere mitzunehmen und zu lernen, sich in die Lage von Unternehmen und Menschen zu versetzen, die direkt betroffen sind. Und nicht jede Entscheidung muss für alle richtig sein.

Beispiel Atomkraft: Während Matthes vom Öko-Institut das Thema zumindest in Deutschland für „durch“ hielt und keine neue Debatte aufmachen möchte, da dies den Weg in die Klimaneutralität nur ausbremsen würde, gab MdEP Bentele zu bedenken, dass das nicht alle Länder in der Europäischen Union so sehen. „In Deutschland ist die Diskussion um Atomkraft vorbei, aber nicht in Europa“, sagte sie. Investorenvertreter Pontzen sieht zwar in der Kernenergie ebenso keine Zukunft mehr und seine Nachhaltigkeitsfonds haben deshalb etwa französische Staatsanleihen abgestoßen – weil Atomkraft für den staatlichen Energieversorger EDF eine zentrale Rolle im Energiemix spielt – abgestoßen. Doch auch er räumt ein: „Es gibt zahlreiche Zielkonflikte. Ideologie hilft nicht.“ Man müsse „alle Sektoren nachhaltig“ machen.

Wirtschaftsvertreter Nader fürchtet Billigkonkurrenz aus anderen Ländern, die weniger strenge Regeln haben. „Wir sind unglaublich hart in Konkurrenz mit anderen Regionen wie China, wo es einen enorm schlechten CO2-Fußabdruck gibt“, sagte er für seinen Bereich, die Nichteisenmetalle. Man gehe die Schritte der CO2-Vermeidung mit, habe aber noch nicht für alles neue Technologien zur Verfügung. Auch Ausgleichszahlungen für Abschaltbescheide reichten nicht. "Die Abschaltung von Unternehmen ist kein Geschäftsmodell.“ Seine Mitgliedsfirmen wollten produzieren.

Matthes vom Öko-Institut glaubt, dass der Weg zur Klimaneutralität nicht nur mit dem Aufbau von Infrastrukturen – vom Leitungsausbau über Anlagen der Erneuerbaren Energien bis hin zu Speichersystemen – verbunden ist, sondern auch mit deren Abbau. „Welcher Teil der Gasindustrie übersteht den Klimaneutralitäts-Stresstest?“, fragte er. Uniper-Renewables-Chef Dr. Frank Possmeier glaubt, dass der Umbau machbar ist, „wenn wir gemeinsam die Transformation in Angriff nehmen“. Man müsse schneller und besser werden. "Der Klimawandel überholt die Genehmigungspraxis in Deutschland“, so Possmeier. Der marktorientierte Ansatz sei zu bevorzugen. „Wir brauchen Technologieoffenheit – mit dem Ausbau der Erneuerbaren und dem Aufbau einer Wasserstoffwirtschaft treiben wir bereits die Dekarbonisierung voran. Mit den richtigen Rahmenbedingungen ginge das deutlich schneller.“ Ein Problem sei noch die „Nicht-in-meinem-Vorgarten“-Mentalität vieler. Das bremse etwa den Leitungsausbau für die Erneuerbaren. Erdgas sei hier Partner beim Übergang. „Wenn Politik, Unternehmen und Gesellschaft in einer konzertierten Aktion zusammen arbeiten, können wir das Ziel der Klimaneutralität schaffen“, sagte Possmeier. Pontzen ergänzte: „Wir haben kein Ambitionsproblem sondern ein Umsetzungsproblem.“

MdEP Bentele hofft, dass man sich auch auf EU-Ebene endlich näherkommt. „Die Klimaneutralität wurde für die gesamte Europäische Union konzipiert, aber nicht alle Mitgliedsländer haben sie bereits anerkannt“, warnte sie. Klar war allen Diskutanten, dass man nur gemeinsam nach vorne kommt. Energiewirtschaft, Industrie, Politik und Finanzen müssten Hand in Hand zur Erreichung des gemeinsamen Ziels agieren. Die Debatte, moderiert von Thomas Wendel, Redaktionsleiter von „Tagesspiegel Background Sustainable Finance“, hätte noch Stunden fortgesetzt werden können, wie Wendel zum Schluss meinte. Und das wird sie sicher auch werden – nicht zuletzt beim nächsten Tagesspiegel Debate.Energy Talk.


Hier geht’s nochmal zum vollen Stream der Konferenz: https://berlin.debate.energy/de/event

Haftungsausschluss

Die Inhalte dieser Website werden mit größtmöglicher Sorgfalt erstellt. Uniper SE übernimmt jedoch keine Gewähr für die Richtigkeit, Vollständigkeit und Aktualität der bereitgestellten Inhalte. Namentlich gekennzeichnete Beiträge geben die Meinung des jeweiligen Autors und nicht immer die Meinung von Uniper SE wieder.