18.01.22 If both of them are climate-friendly, then let’s use both! Interview with Christian Bauer • Reading time: 4 min.

Scroll to Read
Zusammenfassung

How climate friendly is blue hydrogen? This question is currently the subject of heated debate. Christian Bauer from the Paul Scherrer Institute in Villigen in Switzerland has carried out a study together with other researchers to investigate this question. In this interview, he explains why the trench warfare over blue hydrogen needs to stop.

Christian Bauer from the Paul Scherrer Institute in Villigen in Switzerland

Blue hydrogen is regarded as a transition technology that we will use until enough green hydrogen is available. When do you think green hydrogen will be produced in large quantities?

That's difficult to say. To achieve the EU targets for green hydrogen, we would need a huge expansion in renewable energy generation and electrolysis capacity. The expansion rate would have to be much higher than it has been in the past in the photovoltaic sector. Although this is possible, it represents a very big challenge.

The use of blue hydrogen is the subject of heated debate. Where do you think the problems lie?

Blue hydrogen must be used to protect the climate, but this requirement will only be met if emissions of harmful methane from the production and transport of natural gas are kept to an absolute minimum and if almost all the carbon dioxide is separated out during the process of reforming natural gas. The separation of the carbon dioxide is possible using modern plants, but the picture is more mixed when it comes to the extraction and transport of natural gas, with both good and bad examples. On a global scale, the methane losses vary between 0.1 and eight percent of the total natural gas. These are, of course, enormous differences and this is what determines whether or not blue hydrogen is climate friendly.

A study carried out in the USA has come to the conclusion that blue hydrogen cannot help to protect the climate. Why does your study take a different view?

This US study was the trigger for our own investigation. In my opinion, it takes a very one-sided approach and focuses on the worst possible assumptions, which means that its results only apply under certain conditions and do not paint a representative picture of blue hydrogen. We wanted to show the realistic assumptions that would allow blue hydrogen to play a role in protecting the climate. And with modern plants that is absolutely possible.

What approach did your study take?

We relied primarily on methane emission figures from the International Energy Agency (IEA) and from studies carried out in the USA. We identified major regional differences. For example, in Norway and the United Kingdom methane emissions are particularly low, while the figures in the USA vary significantly. The highest methane emissions of up to eight percent are found in Libya and Iraq. The US study took its figures for natural gas reforming from plants that separate CO2 for use in oil extraction. But in this process, high CO2 separation rates are completely unimportant. Technologies are already available that can separate almost all the carbon dioxide and I think that these will be used in the years to come.

Assuming that blue hydrogen is produced under ideal conditions, how high would the levels of CO 2 emissions be in comparison with green hydrogen?

A legitimate comparison would show that the carbon footprint of blue hydrogen in this case would be roughly the same as that of green hydrogen produced using solar energy. This is because the manufacturing process for photovoltaic modules is also energy-intensive and therefore involves CO2 emissions. But I don’t believe in playing blue and green hydrogen off against one another. If both of them are climate-friendly, then let’s use both!

How expensive is blue hydrogen?

At the moment, we mainly use grey hydrogen, which is produced from natural gas without separating the carbon dioxide. Blue hydrogen is around 50 percent more expensive than this at present. But I think that in the next few years the difference in the prices will reduce. The cost of green hydrogen, which is currently much more expensive, will also fall. And we need to keep an eye on the prices of CO2 certificates. If they rise significantly, green and blue hydrogen will become competitive more quickly.

In conclusion, I'd like to ask you to sum up your view of the controversy surrounding green and blue hydrogen.

I would like to highlight two points. Firstly, with any type of regulations, we need to consider the entire value chain, in other words, greenhouse gas emissions from the extraction of natural gas, the production of hydrogen, and also the generation of electricity from renewable sources. In other words, regulations should be based on the complete carbon footprint. Otherwise we are in danger of making the figures look better than they actually are and laying ourselves open to attack. As I have already said, we should not be playing blue and green hydrogen off against one another. I find this trench warfare mildly amusing. Who cares about the color of the hydrogen if it has been shown to produce very low CO2 emissions? The only important consideration is that enough is available.

Disclaimer

The contents of this website are created with the greatest possible care. However, Uniper SE accepts no responsibility for the accuracy, completeness and topicality of the content provided. Contributions identified by name reflect the opinion of the respective author and not always the opinion of Uniper SE.

18.01.22 Wenn beide klimafreundlich sind  – her damit! Interview mit Christian Bauer • Lesedauer: 4 min.

Scroll to Read
Zusammenfassung

Wie klimafreundlich ist blauer Wasserstoff? Darüber wird aktuell kontrovers diskutiert. Christian Bauer vom Paul Scherrer Institut in Villigen (Schweiz) hat diese Frage gemeinsam mit anderen Forschern in einer Studie untersucht. Im Interview erklärt er, warum die Grabenkämpfe um den blauen Wasserstoff aufhören sollten. 

Christian Bauer vom Paul Scherrer Institut in Villigen (Schweiz)

Blauer Wasserstoff gilt als Übergangstechnologie, bis es genügend grünen Wasserstoff gibt. Was glauben Sie: Wann wird grüner Wasserstoff in großen Mengen zur Verfügung stehen?

Das ist schwer zu sagen. Für die EU-Ziele hinsichtlich grünen Wasserstoffs bräuchte man jedenfalls einen enormen Ausbau der erneuerbaren Energien und der Elektrolyse-Kapazitäten. Die Ausbaurate müsste deutlich höher sein als in der Vergangenheit im Fotovoltaik-Sektor. Das ist zwar möglich, aber doch eine sehr große Herausforderung. 

Der Einsatz von blauem Wasserstoff wird kontrovers diskutiert. Welche Probleme sehen Sie?

Blauer Wasserstoff muss dem Klimaschutz dienen. Diese Voraussetzung ist nur erfüllt, wenn bei der Produktion und beim Transport des Erdgases kaum klimaschädliches Methan austritt und bei der Erdgas-Reformierung fast das gesamte Kohlendioxid abgeschieden wird. Letzteres ist mit modernen Anlagen machbar. Bei der Förderung und beim Transport des Erdgases ergibt sich ein gemischtes Bild mit guten und schlechten Beispielen: Im weltweiten Vergleich schwanken die Methanverluste zwischen rund 0,1 und acht Prozent des gesamten Erdgases. Das sind natürlich riesige Unterschiede – und davon hängt auch ab, ob blauer Wasserstoff klimafreundlich ist oder nicht. 

Eine Studie aus den USA kommt zum Ergebnis, dass blauer Wasserstoff keinen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz leisten kann. Warum sehen Sie das in Ihrer eigenen Studie anders?

Die US-Studie war tatsächlich der Auslöser für unsere eigene Untersuchung. Aus meiner Sicht geht sie sehr einseitig von den schlechtesten möglichen Annahmen aus, sodass ihre Ergebnisse nur unter bestimmten Rahmenbedingungen gelten und kein repräsentatives Bild vom blauen Wasserstoff zeichnen. Wir wollten zeigen, unter welchen realistischen Annahmen blauer Wasserstoff einen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz leisten kann. Und mit modernen Anlagen ist das durchaus möglich. 

Wie sind Sie bei Ihrer Studie vorgegangen?

Bei den Methanemissionen haben wir uns vor allem auf Zahlen der Internationalen Energieagentur IEA und Untersuchungen aus den USA gestützt. Dabei haben wir festgestellt, dass es große regionale Unterschiede gibt: Besonders niedrige Methanemissionen findet man beispielsweise in Norwegen und Großbritannien, während die Zahlen in den USA stark schwanken. Die höchsten Methanemissionen mit bis zu acht Prozent gibt es in Libyen und dem Irak. Bei der Erdgas-Reformierung hat die US-Studie Zahlen von Anlagen herangezogen, die CO2 abscheiden, um es bei der Ölförderung einzusetzen. Dort legt man aber gar keinen Wert auf hohe CO2-Abscheidungsraten. Es gibt bereits Technologien, die fast das gesamte Kohlendioxid abscheiden können. Ich rechne damit, dass diese in den kommenden Jahren eingesetzt werden. 

Vorausgesetzt, blauer Wasserstoff wird unter optimalen Bedingungen produziert: Wie hoch wären die CO2-Emissionen im Vergleich zu grünem Wasserstoff?

Bei einem seriösen Vergleich würde man feststellen: Die CO2-Bilanz von solch blauem Wasserstoff entspricht ungefähr der CO2-Bilanz von grünem Wasserstoff, der aus Solarstrom produziert wird. Denn die Herstellung der Fotovoltaik-Module ist ja auch energieaufwendig und dementsprechend mit CO2-Emissionen verbunden. Ich bin aber dagegen, blauen und grünen Wasserstoff gegeneinander auszuspielen. Wenn beide klimafreundlich sind – her damit! 

Wie teuer ist blauer Wasserstoff?

Heute nutzen wir vor allem grauen Wasserstoff, der aus Erdgas ohne die Abscheidung von Kohlendioxid hergestellt wird. Im Vergleich dazu ist blauer Wasserstoff derzeit ungefähr um 50 Prozent teurer. Allerdings rechne ich in den kommenden Jahren damit, dass sich diese Differenz verringern wird – und auch bei grünem Wasserstoff, der heute noch deutlich teurer ist, werden die Kosten sinken. Zudem muss man auch die Preise für CO2-Zertifikate im Auge behalten: Wenn sie stark ansteigen, werden grüner und blauer Wasserstoff schneller wettbewerbsfähig. 

Zum Schluss bitte ein Resümee: Was sagen Sie zur Kontroverse um grünen und blauen Wasserstoff?

Ich möchte zwei Punkte hervorheben. Erstens: Bei jeglicher Art von Regulierung sollte man die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette berücksichtigen – also Treibhausgasemissionen aus der Erdgasversorgung, der Wasserstoffproduktion, aber auch jene der Stromproduktion aus erneuerbaren Energien. Oder anders ausgedrückt: Regulierungen sollten auf vollständigen Ökobilanzen beruhen. Sonst rechnet man sich etwas schön und macht sich angreifbar. Zweitens: Man sollte – wie schon gesagt – nicht blauen und grünen Wasserstoff gegeneinander ausspielen. Ich finde diese Grabenkämpfe ziemlich skurril. Denn wen kümmert die Farbe des Wasserstoffs, wenn er nachweislich geringe CO2-Emissionen verursacht? Wichtig ist doch nur, dass genug davon vorhanden ist. 



Haftungsausschluss

Die Inhalte dieser Website werden mit größtmöglicher Sorgfalt erstellt. Uniper SE übernimmt jedoch keine Gewähr für die Richtigkeit, Vollständigkeit und Aktualität der bereitgestellten Inhalte. Namentlich gekennzeichnete Beiträge geben die Meinung des jeweiligen Autors und nicht immer die Meinung von Uniper SE wieder.